37 students inducted into honor societies

Tech students inducted into National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society
Posted on 11/12/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Tech students inducted into National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society

Thirty-seven Sussex Technical High School students were recently inducted into the National Technical Honor Society and the National Honor Society. The new inductees join 87 current NTHS and NHS members at Sussex Tech.

Members of both academic societies must have an overall grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Students must maintain a cumulative grade of at least 93 all four years and participate in a variety of community service activities to receive the sash and cord at graduation.

“This year, our members will volunteer their time in many community organizations across Sussex County,” said chapter President Bethany Pasmore, a senior from Bethany Beach. “They will serve meals in soup kitchens, donate manpower to Habitat for Humanity, hospitals, and churches, and even help clean up our beaches, all in an effort to better our community.”

This year’s inductees include:

  • Bethany Beach: Sophomore Donald Pasmore
  • Blades: Senior Jose Ibarra-Vazquez
  • Bridgeville: Sophomores Madison Short and Logan Thibodeau
  • Dagsboro: Sophomore Macy Mitchell
  • Ellendale: Junior Ava Kaser
  • Georgetown: Sophomores Mason Cathell, Maritza Chavez-Chavez, Joseph Klosiewicz, Eliana Nunez and Olivia Smith, and juniors Nathaniel Abbott and Jaina Hershey
  • Georgetown: Sophomores Jordan Lee and Ryan Weaver
  • Laurel: Sophomores Samuel Jones, Morgan Rickards and Landon Ruark
  • Lewes: Sophomore Joseph Kane
  • Lincoln: Junior Aaliyah Jones
  • Ocean View: Sophomores Joseph Guimond and Kaitlyn Vogel
  • Seaford: Sophomores Tori Adams, Isabel Akey, Laniya Bailey, Mari Dopler, Abby Fowler, Mikayla Lankford-Gross, Victoria LeCates, Autumn Lenhart, Connor Seeley, Enricho Tajon, Gabriel Walls-Ortiz, Katharine Whitelock, and junior Hannah Murphy
  • Selbyville: Sophomore Callum Neeley and senior Grant Lamers

Officers are seniors Bethany Pasmore, Bethany Beach, president; Shannon O’Hara, Milford, vice president; Madison Vogel, Ocean View, treasurer; and Katerlyn Barrios, Georgetown, secretary. Chapter advisors are teachers Jean Johnson (mathematics), Nancy Massaro (health professions), and Sabrina Neal (business).

Sussex Technical School District. All rights reserved.